Home > < Back

The rise of metal grids/silver nanowires, ITO alternative materials are getting hot

2018-01-02 14:35:00 Editor:MICRON 2

A new generation of indium tin oxide (ITO) replacement materials has become a trend in the past two years. In addition to the emergence of various materials, some touch panel manufacturers have also begun to import these materials, and even related new processes. On the surface, it may only be the use of new materials, but in fact it may cause qualitative changes in the supply chain in the future. The reason why new materials are proposed at this point in time is not only because there are new material competitors who want to join the game, but also because ITO has indeed reached the limit in some applications.


  Break through the ITO large-size application challenge Low impedance/flexible materials attract attention


   In addition to LCD panels, resistive and projected capacitive touch panels (Touch Module) should be an important application of ITO. Compare the placement relationship between the Touch Sensor and the display panel. Some are placed around the display panel (such as optical or acoustic); and some are required because the sensor is opaque Placed under the display panel (like electromagnetic induction type); In addition, some are placed on the display panel, such as external projected capacitors belong to the latter. Because of this, the projected capacitive sensor (that is, the sensing electrode) must look transparent, otherwise it will affect the visibility of the display panel below. ITO is a sensor material because of its excellent optical transmission and electrical conductivity.


   Japan is an important ITO target production area in the world, but the indium (Indium) in ITO materials must rely on the production in mainland China. The production capacity of indium and the remaining storage capacity in the earth have once become the focus of the offensive and defensive war on whether ITO can be used continuously, and it also shows the industry's expectations for new materials; however, there is still no consensus that indium production capacity will appear in the short to medium term. shortage. At the beginning of July 2014, the material price of indium was about RMB 4,970, which was even higher than the price of silver material (RMB 4,295) during the same period. However, in the past year, the price of indium has actually fluctuated and changed significantly. If there is a real shortage, the price should rise all the way, showing that the ups and downs should mean see-saw and adjustment between production capacity and the market.


  The transparent electrode of the plug-in projected capacitor must meet the two conditions of light transmission and conductivity at the same time. Conductivity is even more important in the application of larger touch areas; if the sheet resistance is too high, in addition to the increase in the power consumption of the sensing electrode, the control chip may be more laborious to push, which will affect the touch Sensitivity. ITO itself is a very good conductive material, but it must be attached to the film or glass when used as a sensing electrode. Before performing the sensor patterning process, ITO is usually deposited on a thin film (usually a PET material) or glass by magnetron sputtering.


The way to get a lower resistance value is to increase the deposition thickness of the ITO layer, but the increase in the thickness will affect the light transmittance; in addition, the resistance of the film during the sputtering process is poor, so it cannot be larger. Relatively speaking, the resistance of glass is better, and the natural resistance value can also be reduced, but the thickness of glass is poor.


The current mainstream specification of ITO film is about 150 ohms (Ω)/unit area impedance value, which is sufficient for touch areas below 10 inches, but it is difficult to reach the size of a notebook computer or above 20 inches; at the same time, when When the touch area becomes curved or flexible, the fragility of ITO will easily cause the impedance value to rise sharply, and the impedance stability will become very poor.


Therefore, to become the key to the specification of ITO replacement materials is to be able to solve the above problems, including high conductivity, and can be applied to any substrate and any size; in addition to low surface resistance, it must also be able to maintain good Light transmittance; Furthermore, the material must be flexible, and the impedance value and the stability of the sensing electrode can be adapted to the non-planar touch area.


  Advanced process blessing The rise of metal grid/nano silver wire


In addition to ITO and other inorganic transparent conductive oxides (Transparent Conductive Oxide, TCO), there are currently about five alternative materials in the touch panel industry: Metal Mesh, Silver Nanowires, Carbon Nanotube, Intrinsically Conductive Polymer and Graphene. The first three are replacement materials that have been actually mass-produced and shipped (Table 1).

  


However, judging from the selection and layout of touch panel factories, metal grids and nano silver wires have more supporters, especially the former. Both of these materials are metals (silver or copper), and their conductivity is better than ITO, and it is easy to easily reach a surface impedance value of 100 ohms or even below 50 ohms with acceptable light transmittance. Metal is not a transparent material like ITO itself, so it must be meshed or scattered filaments to increase light transmittance. For example, if the material occupies 10% of the area on the substrate surface of a sensor, then There will be 90% of the area for light to directly penetrate the substrate, which means that 90% of the light transmittance can be achieved (if the light transmittance of the substrate is negligible).


Metal mesh and silver nanowires have obvious advantages over ITO in terms of low surface impedance, but more importantly, both support flexible and non-planar touch areas, and there will be no sharp impedance changes. ; And in the application of projected capacitive touch area larger than 30 inches diagonal, the surface impedance of the two is more ideal, especially the metal grid, the grid pattern is consistent, coherent and extensible. Therefore, when forming a larger size sensing pattern, the uniformity of the circuit and pattern is easier to control.


  Relatively speaking, the current process of silver nanowires is to first wet coating (Wet Coating) on the film, and the control of uniformity is particularly important. Unlike the continuity of the metal grid, each nano silver wire is a separate individual. The conductivity is achieved through the interleaving and overlapping of the silver wires. If the uniformity of the silver wires is not well distributed, the impedance value will be uniform. The temperature will be affected, or even disconnected.


  On the other hand, metal grids also have some shortcomings, especially the problems of light reflection and Moire Effect. At present, the single line width of the metal grid is about 4 microns (μm). If it is too wide, it needs to be blacked on the surface of the grid line to reduce reflection, but this will cause the display panel to be too visually Dim viewing experience; in addition, the reduction of the moiré effect must rely on the graphic design (such as diamond, honeycomb and irregular shapes) and coordinate with the parameters of the display panel (such as Black Matrix and Pixel Pitch).


  However, the shortcomings of metal grids and nano silver wires are not problems that cannot be solved in principle. In the future, they will have the opportunity to gradually overcome them through the refinement of the manufacturing process. The reason why touch panel manufacturers choose these replacement materials is that in addition to the superiority of the material itself in key specifications, the manufacturing process is also an important factor.


Taking nano silver wire for example, it can be compatible with existing low-temperature yellow light equipment. Therefore, the investment and depreciation of the equipment will be more cost-effective for the touch panel factory; and in the pre-wet coating process, the material The degree of waste will also be better than the original ITO sputtering method.


  As for the metal grid, some manufacturers have proposed the "Additive Process" to replace the "Subtractive Process". Typical examples of the latter are Laser Etching and Yellow Light. The yellow light process is to first deposit materials on the substrate, and then through precise exposure, development, and photoresist removal steps, leaving the desired sensing patterns and traces, and etching away unnecessary materials. The former is like the nano-imprinting process of Oufeiguang and LG Innotek. The sensing image and the circuit are fabricated on the substrate at one time using a roller die, without the need to etch the material.


  Other addition processes include the Gravure Printing method proposed by the Industrial Technology Research Institute and the UniPixel Metal Plating method. It will take some time for these new generation processes to completely replace the mature ITO supply chain and yellow light process.


  Expanding application/process advantages Emerging materials to replace ITO can be expected


  Generally, when judging the introduction opportunity of new materials, the commonly used standard is the material cost, but the cost is often only a result, not a cause. From the perspective of the panel industry, compared to plasma technology, the structure and components of liquid crystal panels are too complicated, and the natural cost should be relatively high; but in terms of the abundance of the supply chain, the investment of many upstream and downstream manufacturers, and the growth of the application end market Due to the timing and other factors, the price of LCD panels has continued to fall, and its impact has not only eliminated plasma panels, but has also tightly suppressed organic light-emitting diodes (AMOLED).


Therefore, the specification advantage of the above-mentioned ITO replacement materials is only a ticket. After the input of touch panel manufacturers, the refinement of the process, and the ability to gain a place in the mainstream application market, the penetration rate will gradually increase; then, There will be more input from upstream and downstream manufacturers, resulting in a continuous decline in costs, making new materials more competitive.


The current supply chain and ecosystem based on ITO are actually quite abundant and stable, and for the largest application market (small and medium-sized mobile phones and tablets), unless the price of indium soars, the throne of ITO is not so Easy to be challenged.


   The opportunities for new materials are mainly in two directions: the first is the specification and characteristics, and the second is the investment of the leading manufacturers. The former can be cut in from the application of larger size and non-planar touch area. These two niches are where ITO performs poorly, which can highlight the advantages and value of new materials; the latter is dependent on things like Chen Leading manufacturers such as Hong, OFILM and others have introduced new materials into mainstream applications after process improvement and maturity, providing customers with different choices and gradually building their confidence.

首页 > 资讯 > 技术资讯 < 返回

金属网格/奈米银线崛起 ITO替代材料渐热

2018-01-02 14:35:00 责任编辑:志凌伟业 2

  新一代的铟锡氧化物(ITO)取代材料在这一两年蔚为风潮,除了各种材料的涌现外,有些触控面板厂也已经开始导入这些材料,甚至是相关的新制程。表面上看起来或许是仅是新材料的取用,但实际上却有可能造成将来供应链的质变。新材料之所以会在这个时间点提出,并不单只是有新的材料竞争者想要加入赛局, 而且也是因为ITO在一些应用上确实走到了极限。

  突破ITO大尺寸应用挑战 低阻抗/可挠性材料受瞩目

  除了液晶面板外,电阻式与投射式电容触控面板(Touch Module)应该是ITO重要的应用。比较触控感测器(Touch Sensor)和显示面板之间的置放关系,有些是围绕着显示面板置放感应器(像是光学式或是声波式);而有些是因为感应器不透明而必须放在显示面板之下 (像是电磁感应式);另外,有些则是放在显示面板之上,如外挂式的投射式电容就属于后者。正因为如此,投射式电容的感测器(也就是感应电极)必须看起来是 透明的,否则就会影响下方显示面板的可视性。ITO就是以其兼具良好的透光性(Optical Transmission)和导电性而成为感测器材料。

  日本是全世界重要的ITO靶材生产地,然而ITO材料中的铟(Indium)却必须仰赖中国大陆的生产。铟的产能与地球内剩馀储存量,一度成为ITO是 否得以持续使用的攻防战重点,也显示出产业对新材料的期望;但是,至今仍然没有一个共识可以肯定铟产能会在短中期内出现短缺。在2014年7月初,铟的材 料价格约在4,970元人民币左右,甚至高于同期间的银材料价格(4,295元人民币)。然而,在过去一年内,铟的价格其实起起伏伏、变动明显,如果真的 短缺,价格应该一路攀升,显示高低起伏应该是意味着产能与市场之间的拉锯与调节。

  外挂式投射式电容的透明电极,必须同时满足透光性和导电性两个条件。导电性在较大尺寸的触控区应用时更显得重要;表面阻抗值(Sheet Resistance)如果太高,除了感测电极功耗增加外,控制晶 片有可能推起来更为费力,因而影响触控灵敏度。ITO本身是很好的导电材料,但是做为感测电极时必须先依附于薄膜或是玻璃上。在进行感测图形化 (Sensor Patterning)制程之前,ITO通常以磁控溅镀(Magnetron Sputtering)方式沉积于薄膜(通常是PET材料)或是玻璃上。

  欲得到较低阻抗值的方法,就是让ITO层的沉积厚度增加,但是厚度一增加却会影响透光性;另外,薄膜于溅镀过程中的耐受性较差,因此也无法取得较大的厚度;相对而言,玻璃的耐受性较好,自然阻抗值也可以降低,不过玻璃的厚重程度较差。

  ITO薄膜目前主流规格约在150欧姆(Ω)/单位面积的阻抗值,对于10寸以下的触控区已经足够,但是到了笔记型电脑的尺寸或是20寸以上,就显得吃力;同时,当触控区成为曲面或是可挠式时,ITO的易脆性容易造成阻抗值急遽升高,阻抗稳定性将变得很差。

  因此,要成为ITO取代材料的规格关键,其实就是能够解决上述的问题,包含具有高导电性,并且能够应用在任何基板与任何尺寸上;除了有低表面阻抗值外,也要能维持良好的透光性;再者,该材料要能够具有可挠性,阻抗值与感测电极的稳定性可以适应非平面触控区。

  先进制程加持 金属网格/奈米银线崛起

  除了ITO与其他的无机透明导电氧化物(Transparent Conductive Oxide, TCO)外,目前触控面板产业出现的取代材料约有五种:金属网格(Metal Mesh)、奈米银线(Sliver Nanowires)、奈米碳管(Carbon Nanotube)、导电高分子(Intrinsically Conductive Polymer)与石墨烯(Graphene)。前三者是目前已经有实际量产与出货的取代材料(表1)。

  


  然而,从触控面板厂的选用与布局来看,金属网格与奈米银线拥有较多的支持者,特别是前者。这两种材料都是金属(银或是铜),其导电性都比ITO更好,很 容易在可接受的透光度下,轻易达到100欧姆、甚至50欧姆以下的表面阻抗值。金属并不像ITO本身就是透明材料,因此必须以网格状或是散乱的丝状来提高 透光度,例如,假设在一个感测器的基板表面上,材料占有10%的面积,那么就会有90%的面积可供光线直接穿透基板,也就是说可以达到90%的透光度(如 果基板的透光度忽略不计)。

  金属网格与奈米银线在低表面阻抗值上有明显超越ITO的优势,但更重要的是两者均支援可挠性与非平面的触控 区,而且不会有剧烈的阻抗值变化;而在大于30寸对角线的投射式电容触控区应用上,两者的表面阻抗值更为理想,特别是金属网格,其网格图桉具有一致性、连 贯性与延伸性,因此在形成较大尺寸的感测图桉时,线路与图桉的均匀度比较容易控制。

  相对而言,奈米银线目前的制程是先以湿式涂布(Wet Coating)于薄膜上,均匀度的控制尤其重要。不像金属网格的连贯性,每个奈米银线都是单独个体,导电性是透过银线之间的交错、重叠来达成,如果银线散布的均匀性不佳,那么阻抗值均匀度就会受影响,甚至断线。

  另一方面,金属网格也有若干缺点,特别是反光与摩尔纹(Moire Effect)的问题。目前金属网格的单一线宽约在4微米(μm)左右,若太宽便须要在网格线表面做黑化(Blacking)处理,以减少反光,但这样又会造成显示面板在视觉上太黯澹的观看经验;此外,而摩尔纹效应的降低必须仰赖图桉设计(如菱形、蜂巢状与不规格形状),并且与显示面板的参数(如Black Matrix与Pixel Pitch)进行协调。

  不过,金属网格与奈米银线的缺点,并非是在原理上无法解决的问题,在未来都有机会透过制程的精进逐步克服。之所以让触控面板厂选择这些取代材料的原因,除了材料本身在关键规格的优异性外,制程也是一项重要因素。

  以奈米银线来说,可以相容既有的低温黄光设备,因此触控面板厂在设备的投资与折旧摊提上会较为划算;而在前置的湿式涂布制程上,其材料浪费的程度也会比原先ITO溅镀方式来得好。

  至于金属网格,部分厂商提出了「加法制程(Additive Process)」以取代「减法制程(Subtractive Process)」,后者典型的例子就是雷射蚀刻(Laser Etching)和黄光制程。黄光制程是先将材料沉积到基板上,再透过精密的曝光、显影与去光阻等步骤,留下所要的感测图桉与线路(Traces),并且 蚀刻掉不要的材料。前者像是欧菲光、乐金(LG)Innotek的奈米压印(Imprinting)制程,利用滚轮压模将感测图桉与线路一次制作于基板 上,不须要蚀刻掉材料。

  其他的加法制程还有工研院提出的凹版印刷(Gravure Printing)法,与UniPixel的电镀法(Metal Plating)。这些新一代的制程,要完全取代成熟的ITO供应链与黄光制程,还需要一些时间。

  扩大应用/制程优势 新兴材料取代ITO可期

  一般在判断新材料的导入机会时,常用的标准普遍为材料成本,但是成本常常只是个结果,而不是导致的原因。以面板产业来看,相对于电浆技术,液晶面板的 结构、组件实在过于复杂,自然成本应该要比较高;但是就供应链的充沛性、众多上下游厂商的投入,以及应用端市场的成长时机等因素下,液晶面板价格不断滑 落,其所造成的影响,不只是消灭了电浆面板,目前还紧紧地压制住有机发光二极体(AMOLED)。

  因此,上述ITO取代材料的规格优势仅是张入场券,在透过触控面板厂商的投入、制程的精进,并且能够在主流应用市场取得一席之地后,渗透率就会逐渐提升;接着,就会有更多的上下游厂商投入,致使成本不断下滑,使得新材料更具竞争力。

  目前以ITO为基础的供应链与生态体系,其实相当充沛与稳固,而且对最大的应用端市场(中小尺寸的手机与平板电脑)来说,除非铟的价格飙升,否则ITO的王座并不是那么容易被挑战。

  新材料的机会主要有两个方向:第一是规格特性,第二是领导厂商的投入。前者可从更大尺寸与非平面触控区的应用来切入,这两个利基点都是ITO表现不佳的 地方,更能突显新材料的优势和价值;后者则是要依靠像是宸鸿、欧菲光等领导厂商,透过在制程的改进与成熟化后,将新材料导入主流的应用,提供给客户不同选 择,并且逐渐建立其信心。